Honoris Causa

Name of Recipient Degree awarded Year
The Rt. Hon'ble the Earl of Ronaldshay G.C.I., the First Chancellor Doctor of Laws 1922
Philip Joseph Hartog, the First Vice-Chancellor  Doctor of Laws 1925
The Rt. Hon'ble the Earl of Lytton, Ex-Chancellor of the University Doctor of Laws 1927 
Mahamahopadhyaya Haraprasad Shastri, the First Head of the Department of Sanskrit-Bengali  Doctor of Literature  1927 
The Rt. Hon'ble Sir Francis Stanley Jackson, PC, GCSI, GCIE Ex-Chancellor of the University Doctor of Laws 1932
Sir Chandrasekhare Venkot Raman Eminent Scientist, Nobel Prize Winner Doctor of Science 1932
The Rt. Hon'ble Sir John Anderson, Ex-Chancellor of the University Doctor of Laws 1936
Sir Abdur Rahim, KCSI, Kt Doctor of Laws< 1936
Sir Jagdis Chandra Basu, D.Sc. Doctors of Science 1936
Sir Prafulla Chandra Roy , KTCIE, D.Sc, Ph.D, FCS, FASB Doctor of Science 1936
Sir Jadunath Sarker, Eminent Historian 0Doctor of Literature; 1936
Sir Mohammed Iqbal Kt, MA, PhD, Bar-at-Law, Poet and Philosopher Doctor of Literature 1936
Rabindranath Tagore Doctor of Literature 1936
Sarat Chandra Chattapadhya, Novelist Doctor of Literature 1936
Sir. A.F. Rahman, Ex-Vice Chancellor Doctor of Laws 1937
Khwaja Nazimuddin, Former Governor General of Pakistan Doctor of Laws 1949
His Royal Highness the Rt. Hon'ble Aga Sultan Sir Mohammad Shah Aga Khan, PCKCIE, GCSI, GCIE, GCVO, LL.D. Doctor of Laws 1951
His Excellency Dr. Abdul Wahab Azam , M.A. (London), D Lit.(Fuwad) Doctor of Laws 1952
His Excellency Major General Eskander Mirza Former Governor General of Pakistan Doctor of Laws 1956
A.K. Fazlul Haq, the then Chancellor of the University Doctor of Laws 1956
Madame Sung Ching Ling Doctor of Laws 1956
His Excellency Chou-En Lai Prime Minister of the People's Republic of China Doctor of Laws 1956
Field Marshal Mohammad Ayub Khan, the then President of Pakistan Doctor of Laws 1960
His Excellency Jamal Abdel Nasser, President of the United Arab Republic Doctor of Laws 1960
Professor Satyendra Nath Bose (Posthumous) Doctor of Science 1974
Dr. Muhammad Shahidullah (Posthumous) Doctor of Literature 1974
Poet Kazi Nazrul Islam Doctor of Literature 1974
Ustad Ali Akbar Khan Doctor of Literature 1974
Dr. Hiralal De Doctor of Science 1974
Dr. Muhammed Qudrat-i-Khuda Doctor of Science 1974
Dr. Qazi Motahar Hossain Doctor of Science 1974
Professor Abul Fazal Doctor of Literature 1974
Professor Abdus Salam, FRS, Nobel Laureate Doctor of Science 1993
Dr. Federico Mayor, Director General, UNESCO Doctor of Science 1997
Professor Amartya Sen, Nobel Laureate Doctor of Science  
Sheikh Hasina Hon'ble Prime Minister, the People's Republic of Bangladesh Doctor of Laws 1999
Tun Dr. Mahathir bin Mohamad Former Hon'ble Prime Minister of Malaysia Doctor of Laws 2004
Professor Dr. Muhammad Yunus, Winner of Nobel Prize for Peace Doctor of Laws 2007
Nobel Laureate Emeritus Prof. Yuan Tseh Lee of Taiwan Doctor of Science 2009
Prof. Abul Hussam of Goerge Mason University, USA Doctor of Science 2009
Prof Ranajit Guha. Doctor of Literature 2009
Abdullah Gul Doctor of Laws 2010
Mr. ban Ki-moon, Secretary General of United Nations Doctor of Laws 2011
Irina Bokova Doctor of Laws 2012
Shri Pranab Mukherjee- the President of India Doctor of Laws 2013
Professor Dr. Rolf Dieter Heuer, Director General of the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN) Doctor of Science 2014
Francis Gurry, Director General of World Intellectual Property Organisation Doctor of Laws 2015
Prof Amit Chakma, Vice-Chancellor of Western University, Canada Doctor of Science 2017
Nobel Laureate in Physics Dr. Takaaki Kajita, University Professor & Director, Institute for Cosmic Ray Research, University of Tokyo, Japan Doctor of Science 2019