Department Name : Department of Theatre and Performance Studies

In 1989, a subsidiary course on Theatre was institut- ed directly under the supervision of the Dean of Arts. A similar course on Music was instituted in 1992, also under the Dean of Arts. These two sepa- rate units were brought together in August 1994 and named Department of Theatre and Music.

The department offers a four-year B.A (Honours) course. The department has two M.A programmes, one in Theatre and the other in Music. The M.A. in Theatre is a two year course open to students with a B.A. degree and focuses on acting. The M.A. (Music) is also a two-year course open to students with B.A. or B.Mus degrees and offers specialization in three streams: 1) Folk songs, 2) Tagore Songs and 3) Nazrul Songs.

M.Phil courses are also offered.

The Department has a special auditorium named 'Natmondal' - for staging Drama in regular manner addressing the needs of the courses. The department also arranges annual drama festival at the Teacher Student Centre (TSC) auditorium.