Department Name : Department of Persian Language and Literature

The Persian Department was among the twelve departments first established when the University of Dhaka started in 1921. Initially called the Department of Persian and Urdu, the department was headed by Professor Fida Ali Khan. In the year of 2006, the Persian and Urdu Department was separated into two independent departments and the Persian department was named Department of Persian Language and Literature. It offers a four year B.A. (Honours) course. The M.A. programme is a year long and is offered to those who have obtained a degree of four years duration. M. Phil and Ph.D. programmes are normally of two and three years duration respectively. The M. Phil programme requires one year course work followed by a thesis resulting from the student's research work. A minimum qualification is required for registration for the degrees of M. Phil and Ph.D. The students must defend their theses successfully to obtain degrees. The Department has a Seminar library with a large collection of Persian and other books published in Iran and other countries. Recently, a well-equipped research room named 'Iran Studies Room' has been set up under the supervision of the Department of Persian Language and Literature with the help of the Iranian government. The department publishes a 45 research journal named The Dhaka University Journal of Persian and Urdu. Every year 'Abeda Hafiz Gold Medal' is awarded to the student who obtains first class first position in the M.A. examination. Meritorious students are sent abroad, particularly to Iran for higher education and training.