Department Name : Department of Microbiology

The Department of Microbiology was established in 1979. Bangladesh Society of Microbiologists (BSM) played a pivotal role in this regard and late Professor Anwarul Azim Chowdhury was the founder Chairman of the department. The department was initially located in the ground floor (western side) of the Dept. of Zoology together with a small chunk of the eastern part of the main Curzon Hall building (ground floor). In September 1999, the department was moved to the ground and first floor of the newly constructed Science complex building with a floor area of approximately 27,000 square feet.


Department Website