Department Name : Department of Music
<p><p><br /> In 1993, a subsidiary course on Music was instituted directly under the supervision of Dean, Faculty of Arts, Dhaka University. A similar course on Theatre instituted in 1989, also under the Dean, Faculty of Arts. Both of these separate units were brought under a single departmental administration on 1 August, 1994 and named Department of Theatre and Music. In 1995, the department introduced two M.A programmes on Theatre and the other on Music. M.A (Theatre & Music) programme is a two year course open to student with B.A or B.Mus degree and specialization on four steams:<br /> <br /> I. Folk Music (Looko Sangit),<br /> <br /> II. Classical Music (Raga Sangit),<br /> <br /> III. Tagore Music (Rabindra Sangit) and<br /> <br /> IV. Nazrul Music (Nazrul Sangit).</p> <p> </p> <p><br /> In 1998, Department of Music introduced 5 years Honours and Masters course on Classical, Folk, Tagore and Nazrul songs. M.phil and PhD degrees were also included and started from 2000. Currently there are 200 students are studying Honours and Masters degree on Tagore songs, Nazrul songs, Folk songs and Classical Music. 8 students are doing research on Music for M.phil and PhD degree.</p> <p> </p> <p> </p> <p><br /> From 1 July, 2009, department was newly started and named as Department of Music (Sangit Bibhag).</p> <p> </p> <p> </p> <p><br /> In near future, The department plans to introduce 2 years Certificate Course on Music (Vocal & Instrument) as well as Diploma, Short-Term / Summer courses both on Music Vocal and Instrumental Courses.</p> <p> </p> <p> </p> <p><br />  </p> <p> </p> <p> </p> <p><br /> <br /> <br /> <br /> <br />  </p> <p> </p></p>